## Further foundations for research support

In addition to before mentioned possibilities, more than 20 different foundations and endowments are established at the Faculty of Medicine and support research projects at different levels. Furthermore, there are donations to the Faculty of Medicine (e.g. Dr. Jahn donation, Elise Pittroff donation). Science supporting foundations are of particular relevance for the research progress. The most important foundations either managed by FAU or closely connected to the Faculty of Medicine are presented below.

- The Dr. Fritz Erler fund supports medical research at FAU, especially in surgical disciplines. Furthermore, every three years, a reputed physician engaged in meritorious surgical medicine is awarded the Dr. Fritz Erler Research Award.
- The Gottfried and Lieselotte Naumann fund rewards special achievements in ophthalmology, especially contributions to clinical ophthalmopathology and microsurgery of the eye. Every four years, a prize is given to an extraordinary researcher.
- The Ernst-Muck and Dr. Valentin Aplas foundations also support ophthalmology research.
- The Dr. Norbert Henning foundation endows a biannual prize for extraordinary accomplishments in gastroenterology research.
- The Dr. Kurt and Margarete Groß donation supports specific achievements in cardiology, cardiac-physiology, or cardiac surgery.
- The Ria Freifrau von Fritsch Foundation endows a prize for young investigators in cancer research.
- Both, the Angelika and Helmut Trunk-Foundation and the Sofie Wallner Foundation, also support cancer research. The Sofie-Wallner-Foundation endows yearly awards for gifted medical students with a special interest in oncology, enabling them to spend time in biomedical research laboratories abroad.
- Research projects in environmental medicine can be supported by the Adolf Rohrschneider Foundation.
- The Johanna Prey Foundation supports research in the field of Alzheimer's disease, especially by giving grants for doctoral and master theses.
- The Dr. Ernst and Anita Bauer Foundation is an independent foundation based in Nuremberg. Its aim is to support gifted young physicians originating from the Middle Franconian area. Awards for outstanding research results, benefits for doctoral theses, postdoctoral qualifications, and research projects as well as grants to stay in a foreign laboratory are given by this foundation.

- The Luise Prell and the Fritz and Maria Hofmann foundations recognize outstanding master and diploma theses. In 2018, L. Zeitler was honored by the Luise-Prell prize. M. Dahlmanns received the Fritz and Maria Hofmann prize. Both awardees were honored for their excellent graduation in the degree program Molecular Medicine.
- The Thiersch Prize is awarded annually for the best and most concise postdoctoral qualification (Habilitation). In 2017, Dr. T. Gramberg (Institute of Clinical and Molecular Virology) was awarded with the Thiersch-Preis for his outstanding habilitation thesis on "Die Rolle von SAMHD1 als Restriktionsfaktor der retroviralen Infektion". In 2018, Dr. C. Günther (Department of Medicine 1) was awarded the Thiersch Prize for her habilitation thesis on "Molecular regulation of programmed cell death in inflammatory diseases".
- The Staedtler Prize, provided by the Staedtler-Foundation, honors outstanding doctoral theses. In 2018, Dr. I.N. Schellinger received the prize for her dissertation thesis. The Staedtler-Foundation furthermore provides generous support for research project.
- The Novartis foundation supports young investigators at our Faculty of Medicine.
- The Foundation for Teaching at the Faculty of Medicine was founded to support and improve the education and training of medical students and training of young physicians.

The central university administration of FAU, Division H2 – Körperschaft und Stiftungen, provides further details upon request.