Faculty Board of Directors

The Faculty Board of Directors consists of the Dean, the Vice Deans, the Dean for Student Affairs, and the Medical Director of the University Hospital Erlangen. The Gender Equality Officer, the Commercial Director of the University Hospital Erlangen, the Member of the Senate of FAU, and the Managing Director of the Deans Office have advisory functions within the Faculty Board. The order of representation as well as the areas of responsibilities are defined according to the rules of procedures.


Prof. Dr. Markus F. Neurath


Chair of Internal Medicine I

Prof. Dr. Klaus Überla

Vice Dean

Chair of Clinical and Molecular Virology

Prof. Dr. Thomas Brabletz

Vice Dean for Research

Chair of Experimental Medicine I (Molecular Pathogenesis Research)

Prof. Dr. Matthias Beckmann

Vice Dean for Finance

Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Winkler

Vice Dean for Facilities Planning, Construction, and Management

Department of the Division of Molecular Neurology

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Jürgen Schüttler

Vice Dean for the Medizincampus Oberfranken

Chair of Anesthesiology

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Heinrich Iro

Medical Director

Chair of Otorhinolaryngology

Advisory function

Prof. Dr. Kerstin U. Amann

Gender Equality Officer

Division of Nephropathology

Dr. Albrecht Bender

Commercial Director

University Hospital Erlangen
Administration Universitätsklinikum Erlangen

Prof. Dr. Anja Bosserhoff

Senate of FAU

Chair of Biochemistry

Dr. Stefan A. Thomas

Managing Director

Dean's Office